Ending a collaboration session on host disconnect

Last Updated: Release 4.3

Issue/Question

By default, when the host of a collaboration session disconnects, one of the collaboration participants automatically gains ownership of the session. However, I would prefer to automatically end the session (disconnect all participants) when the host leaves. How can I do this?

Solution

The interface that governs the application's behavior when a host disconnects is IOwnerSessionProvider. You are right that, by default, the implementation of this interface automatically assigns ownership to one of the collaboration participant (selected based on session ID). However, you can implement a custom owner session provider, and set it so that it automatically disconnects all collaboration participants on host disconnect.

The instructions are provided here in the documentation.

 

April 11, 2017